DeWalt DCS373M2 18V XR Metal Cutting Saw - a Toolstop REVIEW

Using the correct tool for the job you're doing doesn't just keep you safe, it saves you time and money.

While having the correct blade fitted to your saw will ensure the best cuts, using a saw designed for the application you're performing will provide you with a host of benefits.


We recently tested DeWalt's DCS373 18v lihium-ion battery powered metal cutting saw (click for our best price). It features DeWalts almost legendary XR system, the benefits of which include efficient motor, intelligent switch and faster applications.

  1. Intelligent motor, switch and batteries
  2. Well designed shoe plate and guard
  3. Tungsten carbide-tipped blade

Dewalt DCS373M2 18V XR li-ion Metal Cutting Saw

BENEFIT #1 - Intelligent Motor, Switch and Batteries



Click here for our podcast covering the benefits of DeWalt's XR system.


We noted, also, that the DCS373's motor is fan cooled and has replaceable brushes. Obviously any saw designed for cutting metal up for 43mm at 90 is going to have to churn out the power, along with the RPM, so keeping the motor cool is essential.

The very act of cutting threaded bar, unistrut, or metal cable trays is going to require a saw specifically designed to safely provide the high-power outputs needed.

Our test, which you can watch on Toolstop TV here (or via the player below) shows that DeWalt have engineered the DCS373 to give you the power you need via 18v 4.0Ah li-ion batteries, all in a saw weighing in at only 3.8kg.

Dewalt DCS373M2 18V XR lithium ion Metal Cutting Saw with 2 x 4Ah batteries, charger and kitbox

BENEFIT #2 - Well Designed Shoe Plate and Guard

Another interesting design feature of the DCS373, and an obvious benefit to users, is the new transparent front guard. Coupled with the LED light, this means you can easily see your cutting line.

Factor in the steel shoe plate, which is fully adjustable, the key benefit here is robustness. This saw has been designed to take the bumps and knocks typical on the jobsite. It's also non-magnetic, so it won't hold onto your filings after a cut.
dewalt dcs373 steel shoe plate

BENEFIT #3 - Tungsten Carbide-Tipped Blade

It goes without saying that using the correct blade for the application you're undertaking is essential. Click here for our blade buying guide.

Therefore, another key benefit of the DeWalt DCS373 metal cutting saw is that it comes supplied, via this link, with 140 mm tungsten carbide blade.


This blade offers you the benefit of being cool-running, featuring 30 tungsten carbide tipped teeth, meaning your cuts will be a constant 43mm and burr-free.

You can see all 3 benefits of owning and using the DeWalt DCS373 metal cutting saw in our Toolstop TV exclusive demo below.


We'd love to know what you think about this saw from DeWalt, so share your views - or ask questions - using the comments section below.


And be sure to share this article with your friends using our Share buttons!

Comments

leighanne tossell on Sat, 08 Jun 2013 17:27:18 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

good review :O) my hubby would sell the wife for one of these !


bakershusband on Sat, 08 Jun 2013 11:17:18 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

hm, nice piece of kit, wonder if I can turn the round trampoline we've got into the octagonal one my wife suddenly says we MUST get


snarepuss on Sat, 08 Jun 2013 07:44:06 +0100 (Likes: 1 / Dislikes: 0

My husband would love one of these :)


Mark Whittaker on Sat, 08 Jun 2013 03:50:16 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

DeWalt have always been the best ergonomically in my opinion, their tools are always great to handle. Like that this really is designed with both the user and the job in mind, the intelligent trigger gives great safety, but the quick blade change and especially the way the line of vision is supported with the lighting and screen is fantastic , and I reckon would really speed up getting the result you wanted


Jamie Berwick on Fri, 07 Jun 2013 20:26:39 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

This is a serious saw that doesn't muck about. Nice job.


kate andrews on Fri, 07 Jun 2013 19:10:13 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

My husband uses this for a wide range of jobs and on a range of materials. It's easy and safe to use (if used properly)


Jane Daniel on Fri, 07 Jun 2013 12:54:17 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

At last sometinhg that isn't mega heavy. As a small female I find some power tools just to heavy for me to use safely, but this one looks ideal. I like to do my own DIY, its cheaper & a whole lot more satisfying than just paying someone to do it or buying it.


colin faulkner on Fri, 07 Jun 2013 07:54:51 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

wow what an amazing bit of kit, so light and easy to use. I like the transparent front guard so you can see what your doing but keeps you protected. My sort of tool.


Ivan Bubola on Fri, 07 Jun 2013 05:40:43 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

A saw that must not fail in a good laboratory


Luke Strickland on Tue, 04 Jun 2013 20:46:27 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

This looks great. I've not really done much metal cutting, mainly wood, but would love to give it a try.


Allan Smith on Mon, 03 Jun 2013 14:06:17 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

Looks amazing!


jessica on Sun, 02 Jun 2013 20:34:25 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

Nice!!!!


Shaun Booth on Sun, 02 Jun 2013 15:51:08 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

Sold: sign me up.


Phil on Sun, 02 Jun 2013 13:54:55 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

18V Li-Ion battery helps this lightweight saw tackle the toughest jobs all day long with out fatigue.


David Paterson on Sun, 02 Jun 2013 12:37:28 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

Brilliant, light in weight but a real heavyweight in action


jim toner on Sat, 01 Jun 2013 21:17:52 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

I am a spark and my boss recently bought one of these when the corded grinder chucked it, we use it to cut conduit, cable tray, trunking and the old cable into lengths to fit into the van££££££


dan meskell on Sat, 01 Jun 2013 17:29:57 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

this is an awesome looking saw


guntony on Sat, 01 Jun 2013 12:12:55 +0100 (Likes: 0 / Dislikes: 0

Suuuuuuuuper little tool...!!!!!!!!!!


blog comments powered by Disqus

Select Country:

  • UK - Mainland
  • AustriaAustria
  • BelgiumBelgium
  • BulgariaBulgaria
  • DenmarkDenmark
  • FinlandFinland
  • FranceFrance
  • GermanyGermany
  • Greece (mainland)Greece (mainland)
  • IcelandIceland
  • IrelandIreland
  • Isle of ManIsle of Man
  • ItalyItaly
  • MaltaMalta
  • NetherlandsNetherlands
  • Northern IrelandNorthern Ireland
  • NorwayNorway
  • PortugalPortugal
  • RomaniaRomania
  • SlovakiaSlovakia
  • SloveniaSlovenia
  • SpainSpain
  • SwedenSweden
  • SwitzerlandSwitzerland
  • UK - GuernseyUK - Guernsey
  • UK - HighlandsUK - Highlands
  • UK - Isle of ManUK - Isle of Man
  • UK - JerseyUK - Jersey
  • UK - MainlandUK - Mainland
  • UK - N. IrelandUK - N. Ireland
  • UK - OffshoreUK - Offshore
  • United StatesUnited States

Select Currency:

  • GBPGBP
  • BGN
  • CHF
  • DKK
  • EUR
  • NOK
  • RON
  • SEK
  • USD